Peek Inside PDF

Your browser does not support embedded PDF files.

The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz

By: Laura Toffler-Corrie

Comedy

In the old days, before WhatsApp, Twitter, and Instagram...there was email! Join Amy Finawitz as she shares the juicy details of her hilarious and bizarre life with her best friend, Callie.

Ages: 10+

337 pages

Macmillan

Average Rating: (79 Ratings)

Don’t read this.
Submitted 11/10/2019 by yhoff

This book was just OK

I thought this book was boring and pointless.
I couldn’t even follow along, I was just spacing out. I’m a big reader and love all sorts of books, but reading this was a complete waste of time.

So good
Submitted 11/8/2019 by StrawberryCutie

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

This book is so funny, and sarcastic! There are minor cuss words, but to me that added to it not made it worse. I love this book, and I read it over and over! You will NOT regret getting this book!

Bad book do not read.
Submitted 11/3/2019 by panda2017

This book was just OK

This book made me think more about friendship.

This book is very slow moving and isn't very interesting
I do not recommend it unless you like reading scripts and messages
This book is bad do not bother.

I AM MAD AT MYSELF
Submitted 11/3/2019 by SWBlackBelt

I regretted choosing this book as soon as I found out that there was language.

I liked it
Submitted 2/4/2019 by mackzfan1

I liked this book a lot. I like that it shows what teenagers are actually like.

πŸ‘Ž
Submitted 2/1/2019 by irvnez

This book was just OK

It was confusing and oddπŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”

YAASS!
Submitted 1/9/2019 by Tatalinda

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

I luv this girls attitude. Finally a book with swear words! it was soo funny!

This book was good
Submitted 10/7/2018 by gymnast2flip

I liked this book.

This book does have some words but it has a amazing story behind it.❀️

I LOVED THIS BOOK
Submitted 8/9/2018 by StrawberryCutie

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

I really enjoyed this book. There was curse words, but other than that I loved it.

Bad words and attitudes
Submitted 6/16/2018 by 3Catsgirl

The things I did not like about this book were the swear words!! And that she was crushing on some guy obsessed with him. I also did not like that it was only one half of the conversation, I couldn't read what her friend was responding with. Other than that, the book was fine.

this was a pretty good book!!
Submitted 6/10/2018 by bookwormfamily

I liked this book.

This book made me think more about friendship.

This was a really good book because it talks about someone who sounds like a real person and not just a character. I did not like how it never showed the letters her friend sent her so sometimes it was confusing.

noooooo!!
Submitted 6/1/2018 by MaddieBunny

I did not like how the book was written as letters to her friend. I found the book very hard to get into and confusing. I also found the book a bit depressing. some parts of the book did not go together that well. (has a lot of bad words)

LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!
Submitted 4/6/2018 by Animal800

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

This book is very funny, and will make you laugh every which way Amy turns. I read it over and over again and am now suggesting it to other people(aka my mom). Don't read it if you can't stand two or three bad words, but otherwise I LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!

This book just wasn't good.
Submitted 4/5/2018 by CoffeeBreak

This book is really not interesting, and i don't recommend it. Just a few pages in, there were sad parts. I had no idea of what was going on, and i lost interest like 10 pages in.

Not interesting
Submitted 2/4/2018 by BigSis26

This book was just OK

This book was not that good. It didn't have a plot and it was just talking about her boring life. It also didn't have good words so if your 8 and up please dont read it its for your good there's much more better books

PG 13
Submitted 2/2/2018 by girlartist

This book has some *ahem* Lady-only Things inside. It also had some bad words in it. It was an okay book except for those things. I haven'[t finished it and I'm not sure if I will because of those reasons.

Boring!!
Submitted 1/3/2018 by JimmyKimmelrocks

I think that this book is really bad! I stopped in the middle because it was so boring you shall not get this book.

Great Book!
Submitted 1/1/2018 by kodaly15

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

It's an amazing and funny book about a girl learning to balance relationships. Important to read for anyone who identifies with this description, and also for anyone who doesn't

AWSOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Submitted 12/7/2017 by joyfulnoise

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about being Jewish.

Really good book if you are 11and up you will most likely
understand this book.
this book has a lot of bad words,but that being said its not made
for little kids, if you notice not all the books on pj are made for little kids
most are but not all. pritty much all the bad reviews for this book were
about the bad words.
in all it was a really good book

Too many bad words
Submitted 12/6/2017 by chellie312

This book was just OK

I stopped reading after the first two chapters because it had a lot of bad words.

Bad Book!!!!!
Submitted 12/4/2017 by Doggie

This book was just OK

This book made me think more about being Jewish.

Do not read this book! Has lot's of bad words.

funny&dramatic
Submitted 12/1/2017 by Devorah

Thumbs up!

This book made me think more about friendship.

this book is really funny! I give it a thumbs up!

Pretty good!!😍
Submitted 11/11/2017 by hillsidegirl

I liked this book.

This book made me think more about friendship.

This book was pretty good. It is more appropriate for teens because younger kids do not know what it feels like to get made fun of like Amy did.

Bad book do not bother
Submitted 10/14/2017 by sheba

This book was just OK

This book made me think more about friendship.

The book was boring and had some very bad words.
Do not read it!

did not met expectations
Submitted 10/10/2017 by ilovemath

This book was just OK

This book is just amy writing to her friend. I found it boring. Would not recommend

Don't read this book if you are 8!
Submitted 10/8/2017 by Read more BOOKS!

I am 8 years old and I only read 2 or3 pages and there were soooooooooo many words that I don't know what mean! I think you should not read this book unless you are 10 or older.

okay
Submitted 10/8/2017 by birchkids

This book was just OK

This book made me think more about friendship.

i liked this book but i found it confusing

READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!. MUST READ!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Submitted 10/7/2017 by Nirakohan

Thumbs up!

Don't Bother to read this bad book
Submitted 10/6/2017 by largemouthbass

This book was just OK

This book made me think more about friendship.

This book was so boring. I almost had to force myself to read this book.

bad
Submitted 10/5/2017 by FunnyboyOne

This book was just OK

This book taught me more about Israel.

its realy boring.

It was ok but I couldn't even finish it.
Submitted 10/4/2017 by purejoy121

It got boring very quickly.

I love this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Submitted 10/2/2017 by joyfulnoise

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

best book I ever read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Don't waste your time
Submitted 9/6/2017 by booklover100

This book was just OK

I saw it and it said if you liked the book Queen of Likes then you will like this book too but it was wrong

It's ok
Submitted 9/4/2017 by bookeater

This book was just OK

It wasn't very good

Pretty good
Submitted 9/3/2017 by vozitko

I liked this book.

This book made me think more about friendship.

This πŸ“• is just ok
Submitted 9/2/2017 by candylover

I liked this book.

This book taught me more about Israel.

I πŸ’ŸπŸ’ŸπŸ’ŸπŸ’ŸπŸ’ŸπŸ’ŸπŸ’ŸπŸ’Ÿd getting this πŸ““.

Really Good!
Submitted 9/2/2017 by lovecupcakes

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

It was a really good book that I recommend.

To old for me!
Submitted 9/2/2017 by KCUnicorn

This book was just OK

This book made me think more about friendship.

I didn't like the book because the main character was a teenager and I'm only 10 years old. So I thought it was a bit told old for me to read but, I might read it when I'm 12 or 13 years old. Also, she talks about things I am not able to relate to and don't think about.

Hilarious
Submitted 9/1/2017 by rose8

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

This book was funny and I could hear my own voice when I was reading it. It was hilarious. It taught me all of the stuff girls go through at that age.

This was not a good book
Submitted 9/1/2017 by fpopper

I did not like how this book was written in letters to Amy's friend. I read a little and then stopped because I didn't like it. You should chose a different book.

too teenage
Submitted 8/23/2017 by TheFool

This book was just OK

Well, I read the first couple of days. WAAAAAAAY too teenage. Also, on the first day, the book brought up boobs. Disgusting.

pretty boring
Submitted 8/20/2017 by noots

This book was just OK

This book made me think more about friendship.

The book was boring. I read a little bit every now and then. I recommend this book to 11+

I did not enjoy this book very much. It did not meet my expectations.
Submitted 8/3/2017 by Pepperbird

I would not recommend this book because of a couple reasons. For one, the plot was hard to follow. Also, the plotline was very far fetched. At times, the story sped up, and at times it slowed down. Had I known the book better before I read it, I would not have read it. I would recommend for you to not choose this book over other books.

Must Read
Submitted 7/7/2017 by L0vBooks

Love the adventure I went on in this book. Too good to explain in words.
JUST READ!!!!!

Good i think :)
Submitted 7/5/2017 by cjfineman

This book was just OK

This book made me think more about friendship.

I like this book i guess:( some parts of the story were boring others we're confusing and some were sort of good. Its not my fave but i guess its fine. I don't recommend it to any one!!!!! :(

Submitted 7/2/2017 by Sweet Soul

This book was just OK

This book taught me more about Israel.

reaaaaad meeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Submitted 3/11/2017 by Evil Lulla

I would read more books by this author.

This book made me think more about friendship.

this book is sooooooooooo good! read it!

YES! You have to read this. Great book!!!
Submitted 3/6/2017 by Banana Leaf 2

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

I loved this book. It is like the best book ever. I really liked the format; it looked like texts/letters. There were some humorous parts, along with some sad parts too. Like I said, it is the best book ever.

Love It!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Submitted 12/2/2016 by Mfbook

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about being Jewish.

Loved it! Great book. Makes you think more about being Jewish

I liked this book a lot!!!!!
Submitted 12/1/2016 by phoenixgirl

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

I loved this book! If you like funny but slightly weird books then you will like this. I think it would be better if the author included her friends letters.

Awesome Book
Submitted 11/2/2016 by smiley05

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

I could connect with this book a lot. It refers to real places and things. It is so realistic! They go to Starbucks for meetings and go on a search on a street that I know is real because I've been there! This book is about unusual friendships. When you read this book I think you will want to hear from the other characters.

Hysterical!
Submitted 10/5/2016 by Doodles

Could not put down the book! Loved it! ;)

Hilarious
Submitted 10/3/2016 by 24rs

Thumbs up!

This book made me think more about friendship.

Amy's journal entry's are super funny and if you like a good laugh then you should read the Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz.

Submitted 9/7/2016 by ketsl10

amazing book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:)

love it!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Submitted 8/1/2016 by Mfbook

Submitted 6/5/2016 by animal lover

I was a little disappointed. When I first started it I had no idea what was going on. Also, when I was on the fifth letter it said a bad curse word. I would not recommend it for anyone ages 10 and under.

great book
Submitted 5/18/2016 by Artistathlete

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

this was a great book for me it was pretty easy to follow along and it was so funny.

great book
Submitted 5/10/2016 by shoobiedoo

Thumbs up!

This book made me think more about friendship.

love this book

I agree with most of the people who wrote reviews
Submitted 5/8/2016 by phillyevelyn

I liked this book.

This book made me think more about friendship.

it was good but little off topic. One WHOLE letter was just talking about her boyfriend.But i liked how the author included Amy as well as an Conservative Jew and a teacher.I wish the author included her friends letters too.

SAD
Submitted 5/3/2016 by clogger

This book was just OK

This book made me think more about friendship.

I could not keep up with the details so it was just a boring book.

dont choose me
Submitted 5/3/2016 by ghiri

This book was just OK

This book made me think more about friendship.

the story is not original and the set up is very confusing. seems more like journal entry than the story you thought it was. the story dived in to the middle of the event leaving you unaware of the event taking place. i would not read this book

Boring
Submitted 4/23/2016 by lovesblue

This book was just OK

I learned more about Jewish history from this book.

It kind of was good but when I picked the book expected way more than what the author put in this book and I just wanted to finish it because I was bored of reading it

Hilarious!
Submitted 4/6/2016 by Candy123

Thumbs up!

This book made me think more about friendship.

Amy is such a lively girl. There are many different things about the characters that just seem to pop out of the pages.It explains about many different cultures of Judaism,and elaborates on almost everything. This book even reminds me of my own quirky life. I also liked the history/mystery part in this book. I hope you will pick it!

vvvvveeeerrrryyyy good!
Submitted 4/3/2016 by virginia

Thumbs up!

This book made me think more about friendship.

read dem books!!!!!!

So many mysteries. So historical. So interesting
Submitted 4/3/2016 by tzipporah

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

Amy's BFF has gone to Kansas for the year. Amy is upset. But when Amy's teacher assigns an assignment that leads Amy to an undiscovered mystery, an letter from President Abraham Lincoln that is 1 of a kind. It gets real good! # I HEART THIS BOOK!

sooooooooo funny
Submitted 4/1/2016 by ketsl10

Thumbs up!

This book made me think more about friendship.

it was so funny!

Submitted 4/1/2016 by Binanew

This book was just OK

This book made me think more about friendship.

i didn't like this book.It has to much love story, and hardly any comedy

Ummmm.... Not sure about this book!
Submitted 3/12/2016 by Camryn

This book was just OK

This book made me think more about being Jewish.

This book wasn't really my favorite. I felt it had a lot of confusing things in it and I was very confused.........
However, since the story is all emails I wish it showed the others' replies.
there were some parts I really absolutely enjoyed,

I didn't really like it... :(
Submitted 3/10/2016 by GUMMYBEARS#3

This book was just OK

It wasn't really THAT good. If I knew more on what this book was about, I would have chosen a different/better book...

So far so good
Submitted 3/9/2016 by Chosen_One

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

i haven't finished it but so far i really like it!!!

very exited
Submitted 2/10/2016 by lpay14

never read it but its comedy :]

Sounds super super cool
Submitted 2/5/2016 by cheergirl

I just can't wait to read it so cool sounding so excited!!!!!

so good!
Submitted 2/3/2016 by debgoldberg

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

This book was great! There is a boy in my class that I never talked to til third grade, and this book helped! it was creative, funny, original, sad, realistic, and i feel as though i can relate to Amy.

fabulous!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Submitted 2/2/2016 by Mfbook

I loved this book!

This book made me think more about friendship.

I loved it. it made me think of the importance of friends. I just loved it. It was the best book ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i liked this book because it was a mystery
Submitted 10/27/2015 by Music

Thumbs up!

This book made me think more about being Jewish.

my fave part was when amy and her friends found a letter from abe lincon

how to
Submitted 10/8/2015 by shevybevy

how do i get this book it looks intresting but when i could read it i forgot to order a book so im just plain sad

I enjoyed "the mystery" part of the book the best!
Submitted 9/2/2015 by Design Team

Thumbs up!

As her best friend, Callie is staying in Kansas for the year, Amy is in a mix of jumbled up thoughts. She has almost no friends except for some β€œgeeky” girls who knit. She also has a crush on a hottie named John. Then one of her teachers assigns a project about Judaism and Amy finds herself working with a neighbor, Miss Sophia, and a religious boy, Beryl. They then together discover a very important piece of history. Told in emails and letters, this book is a great read! I found this book to be slow at the beginning but got sillier towards the end.
by Hannah, age 10, Ohio

So funny!
Submitted 4/2/2015 by happygirl12345

I loved this book!

This book is about a girl who's best friend moves away. At the beginning, she's not open to new things, but new people and adventures change that, and you can really see her character grow. LOVED IT!

Engaging and funny!
Submitted 1/1/2015 by Design Team

Review by Noa, New York
Amy Finawitz is an amazing read about a teen girl growing up in New York City. Amy encounters many challenges through her journey of becoming a Jewish adult, many of which are very relatable. The story is engaging and funny, the characters well developed, and the NYC setting is perfect for the star.

Submit A Review

 
1 2 3 4 5

Review by Margalit

Laura Toffler-Corrie

Author of The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz

Laura Toffler-Corrie was born in a big hospital in New York City, but shortly thereafter moved to the little town of Oceanside, Long Island. She loved it when her grandmother would take her to Manhattan, where she remembers her stepping boldly into the street, arm raised high, vigorously shouting "Yoo-hoo! Taxi!" into the onslaught of oncoming traffic, much like Miss Sophia in this book.

During her school years, Laura and her best friend amused themselves by writing each other funny letters and plays about their lives: boys, friends, boys, neighbors, boys, school, dating, boys . . . well you get the picture. This activity actually continued way into college and became the inspiration for her first novel, The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz. Laura holds an M.S. in school psychology, as well as an M.F.A. in dramatic writing from New York University. She and her family live in South Salem, NY.

More for Parents:
The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz

The Life and Opinions of Amy Finawitz by Margalit

If You Like This Book, Check Out:

Click for the BBB Business Review located Agawam, MA